TOC News and Announcements

The latest news, updates and announcements from TOC

TOC Members Elect One New Board Member, Four Incumbents

TOC’s membership elected Allen Aldrich and re-elected incumbents Bob Baffert, Ed Moger, Mike Pegram and Kathy Walsh to its Board of Directors. All five were elected to three-year terms. The new Board officially takes office on July 1st and will be seated at TOC’s first board meeting of the new fiscal year when directors meet on July 10 at Los Alamitos. Aldrich resides and runs his business, Aldrich Properties, in his hometown of Pleasanton. He has been leading owner at both the Oak Tree at Pleasanton and Humboldt County Fair meets, and he has raced and won at every live racing venue in California. He also had an ownership interest in Eclipse Award champion She’s A Tiger. Baffert, a Hall of Fame and Triple Crown winning trainer, has served on the board since 2007 as an owner-trainer representative. He also serves on the Racing Affairs committee. Moger, who has been on the board since 2010 as an owner-trainer member, is also one of three Northern California representatives. He is active on the Racing Affairs committee and is an at-large member of the Executive committee. Pegram has been a member of the board since 2010, serving as Chairman since 2012. He is an ex-officio member of all TOC working committees as well as a member of the Executive Committee. Walsh serves as an owner-trainer representative and has been on the board since 2012. She is chair of the Racing Affairs committee. A total of 7,030 ballots were mailed out to eligible voters, and 1,682 qualifying ballots were received. The complete vote tally is available below. The newly elected Directors join Nick Alexander, Mark Dedomenico, Ron Ellis, Mike Harrington, Terry Lovingier, Billy Morey, Jack Owens, Bill Strauss, George Todaro, and Mike Wellman in comprising TOC’s 2015-16 Board. Current TOC bylaws require that at least three board members be from Northern California. Representing Northern California on the Board are Moger, Morey and Owens. TOC bylaws allow for up to six owner-trainers on the board, and representing the owner-trainer seats are Baffert, Ellis, Harrington, Moger, Morey, and Walsh.