TOC News and Announcements

The latest news, updates and announcements from TOC

TOC Members Re-elect Five Incumbents to Board

TOC’s membership re-elected incumbents Nick Alexander, Joe Ciaglia, Bob Liewald, Jack Owens, and Samantha Siegel to its Board of Directors. All five were elected to three-year terms. The new Board officially takes office on July 1st.

Alexander has served on the board for six years and as chairman for the past four years. He has raced Thoroughbreds in California for 40 years. He also has a band of 30 broodmares and their offspring at his Santa Ynez ranch and has produced graded stakes winners Enola Gray, Pee Wee Reese, and Grazen.

Ciaglia has served on the board for three years and is an active member of the Wagering Committee and Finance Committee. He has been an owner and breeder since 2004 and has raced several graded stakes winners including Ashleyluvssugar.

Liewald was appointed to the board last November to fill a vacancy. He is an active member of the Wagering Committee and chairman of the newly formed Sports Wagering Subcommittee. In addition to owning several horses in partnerships, he has broodmares, two yearlings, and a two-year-old.

Owens was elected to the TOC board in its initial election, was reelected in 1997, and served as chairman in 2001-03, 2004-05, and 2011. He currently serves as Vice Chair, Northern California, and as a member of the Wagering and Northern California Racing Affairs committees. He has been an owner and breeder for more than 35 years, racing predominantly in Northern California.

Siegel joined the board in 2016 and serves as chair of the Wagering Committee. She also serves on the Sports Wagering Subcommittee and Owner Relations Committee. Racing as JayEmEss Stable, she is an active owner and breeder whose family has been in California racing for more than five decades, campaigning multiple grade I winners.

The newly elected Directors join Allen Aldrich, Bob Baffert, Mark Dedomenico, Gary Fenton, Rick Gold, Mike Harrington, Terry Lovingier, Ed Moger, Mike Pegram, and Bill Strauss in comprising TOC’s 2019-20 Board.

Current TOC bylaws require that at least three board members be from Northern California. Representing Northern California on the Board are Aldrich, Moger, and Owens. TOC bylaws require at least two and no more than six owner-trainers on the board, and representing the owner-trainer seats are Baffert, Harrington, and Moger.

A total of 6,622 ballots were mailed out to eligible voters, and 1,266 qualifying ballots were received. The complete vote tally is available for viewing here.